Glimpses of Events

Ongoing Projects

Latest Research

Vulnerability Assessment of Swat, Dir and Chitral with respect to Earthquakes of Pamir-Hindu Kush Region

Principle investigator:
Dr. Khaista Rehman
Sponsor/Funds:PSF (3 Million PKR)
Duration: 3 years

Efficacy of Clay minerals sorbent for toxic elements and antibiotic removal from industrial effluents

Principle investigator:
Dr. Shah Rukh
Sponsor/Funds:NSLP- PSF (3.68 Million PKR)
Duration: 3 years

Production of biogas from organic waste using microbially triggered clay mineral as an accelerant

Principle investigator:
Dr. Shah Rukh
Sponsor/Funds:NLSP-PSF (4.03 Million PKR)
Duration: 3 years

GIS & Space Applications in Geosciences (G-SAG)

Principle investigator:
Dr. Muhammad Shafique
Sponsor/Funds:Higher Education Commission, Pakistan/ 96 Million PKR
Duration: 3 years


Climate change induced multi hazard risk mitigation for marginalized communities along the CPEC in northern Pakistan. (Project No. CPEC-130)

Principle investigator:
Dr Muhammad Shafique
Sponsor/Funds:: CPEC Collaborative Research Grant (CPEC-CRG) HEC/ Rs. 18,495,093/-
Duration: 3 years

Petrographic and Petrologic studies in Kohistan magmatic arc (northern Pakistan) and Nagar Parkar igneous complex (southeastern Pakistan)

Principle investigator:
Prof Dr M Qasim Jan
Sponsor/Funds:: Pakistan Academy of Science (PAS-HEC)/Rs. 3.00 million.
Duration: 3 years

Evaluation of Dynamic Soil Properties for the Seismic Ground Response Analysis of Islamabad and Peshawar

Principle investigator:
Dr Waqas Ahmad
Sponsor/Funds:: NRPU, HEC/6517500 PKR
Duration: 3 years

Mineral based composite accelarations for enhancing anaerobic digestion of organic waters for improving biogas yield and digestate nutrients quality as an organic fertilizer

Co Principle investigator: Dr Shah Rukh
Sponsor/Funds:: NRPU, HEC/5505500 PKR
Duration: 3 years

Arsenic and heavy metals in poultry feed, meet and manure P.I.

Principle investigator: Dr Said Muhammad (NCEG)
Sponsor/Funds:NRPU-HEC/ 4.3 Million PKR.
Duration: 3 years

Tanveer Ahmed, Khaista Rehman, Muhammad Shafique, Wajid Ali and Nisar Ali Shah

Tanveer Ahmed, Khaista Rehman, Muhammad Shafique, Nisar Ali Shah & Muhammad Waqar Azeem

Zahid Rahman, Khaista Rehman

Tariq, Mohsin, Ayaz Mehmood, Yasir Abbas, Shah Rukh, Fayyaz Ali Shah, Ahmed Hassan, Ali Raza Gurmani, Zahoor Ahmed, and Sining Yun.

Umair, Muhammad, Ayaz Mehmood, Shah Rukh, Ahmad Khan, Zahoor Ahmad, Mazhar Rafique, Kouser Majeed Malik, and Ali Raza Gurmani. 2023.

Khaista Rehman, Wajid Ali, Muhammad Shafique, Aamir Ali, Adnan Barkat, Waqas Ahmed & Muhammad Waqar Azeem

Abrar Niaz, Umair Bin Nisar, Sarfraz Khan, Rashida Faiz, Asim Javed, Jawad Niaz, Muhammad Aaqib, Mohsin Raza & Bikram Bhusal

Shah Jehan,Seema A. Khattak,Sardar Khan,Liaqat Ali,Muhammad Waqas & Asad Kamran

Umair Bin Nisar, Muhammad Farooq, Sarfraz Khan, Ramesh Raj Pant, Iftikhar A. Satti, Ali Wahid, Faizan ur Rehman Qaiser, Syed Amjad Ali Bukhari, and Furqan Mahmud Butt.

Syed Ali Turab, Kurt Stüwe, Finlay M. Stuart, Nathan Cogne, David M. Chew, Jörg Robl

Muhammad Bilal Adeel, Zubair Ahmed Nizamani, Muhammad Aaqib, Sarfraz Khan, Jawad Ur Rehman, Bikram Bhusal & Duhee Park

Ambrin Rehman, Shah Rukh,* Samha Al Ayoubi, Seema Anjum Khattak, Ayaz Mehmood, Liaqat Ali , Ahmad Khan, Kouser Majeed Malik, Abdul Qayyum and Hikmat Salam

Mohsin Tariq, Ayaz Mehmood, Yasir Abbas, Muzamal Ali, Zahoor Ahmad, Usman Saeed, Shah Rukh, Khuram Shahzad, Mazhar Rafique, Ali Raza Gurmani, Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Sining Yun

Sarfraz Khan, Muhammad Waseem, Shahzad Khalid, Denise-Penelope N. Kontoni, Mahmood Ahmad and Suraparb Keawsawasvong

Sumbal Bahar Saba, Muhammad Ali, Syed Ali Turab, Muhammad Waseem & Shah Faisal

Muhammad Sarim, Tayyab Jan, Seema Anjum Khattak, Adil Mihoub, Aftab Jamal, Muhammad Farhan Saeed, Somayeh Soltani-Gerdefaramarzi, Saadia Rashid Tariq, Manuel Pulido Fernández, Roberto Mancinelli and Emanuele Radicetti

Kurt Stüwe, Jörg Robl, Syed Ali Turab, Pietro Sternai & Finlay M. Stuart

Mohibullah Khan, Sarfraz Khan, Liaqat Ali & Umair Bin Nisar

Benazeer Iqbal,Muhammad Ali

Shah Jehan, Seema Anjum Khattak, Sardar Khan, Lixin Wang, Liaqat Ali, Muhammad Waqas & Mian Luqman Hussain

Mohibullah Khan, Liaqat Ali, Rahib Hussain, Sarfraz Khan, Seema Anjum Khattak and Sajid Rashid Ahmad

Shah Jehan, Seema Anjum Khattak, Sardar Khan, Liaqat Ali, Mian Luqman Hussain

Rashid, Mehboob U., Waqas Ahmed, Muhammad Waseem, Bakht Zamin, Mahmood Ahmad, and Mohanad M.S. Sabri. 2022.


For More Latest Research Click Here


Director's Message

The National Centre of Excellence in Geology (NCEG) is one of the prestigious institutions of Earth Sciences in the country. It has the state-of-the-art laboratories where cutting edge research in regards to
(Read More)

News Updates

email your posts & suggestion to